RSS

Lessons Learned:#2 – Pray and Be Patient

08 Jul

Reflecting back on my married life, I think about the many times I prayed to God for change to take place. But grew weary of waiting when it didn’t come at the time I thought it was necessary.

As I reflect, I can honestly say that God has answered favorably nearly every prayer I’ve ever uttered. But it seemed that it was always too late, at least in my eyes. But now I understand that in order to have true faith, you must have amazing patience.

I ran into an older, wiser lady while grocery shopping last week. She mentioned how she had married some nearly 15 years ago. At the time she fell in love and married a man that later started abusing alcohol. Her family had suggested that she leave him and find someone else who was more worthy. But the lady says that she had vowed to be with this man for better and for worse. So faithfully she prayed every day for God to give her the strength to endure and to deliver her husband from his illness. She continued to serve God in the best way she knew how and while others still couldn’t understand what she saw in this man, she continued to pray for him.

It would be twelve years later that her prayers would seemingly be answered. She said her spouse had apologized for all the hurt and pain he had caused and walked away from the alcohol. She says they now have the best relationship and she feels that all the waiting on God was worth it. It was such a beautiful story, because I knew her personally and I knew what she spoke to be true.

Now, I don’t want anyone who is being physically abused to feel that I’m telling them to put their lives in jeopardy. Because, that’s a totally different situation. But what I do see is everyday many people are divorcing over the most senseless of reasons, without trusting that God can change it.

I do know this…that if I should remarry, I vow to be more patient when I pray to God. As the old saying goes, “God may not come when you want him, but he’s always right on time!”  I,for one, am all too familiar with this.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Lessons Learned:#2 – Pray and Be Patient

  1. Lu

    August 12, 2010 at 2:45 am

    Obviously, your leaving a message on my blog was one of the signs I asked God for. I am in the process of going through a divorce and this has been a less than ideal week to deal with things. I look forward to reading your posts in the coming days. Take care and blessings to you.

     
    • trankins78

      August 12, 2010 at 5:48 am

      Lu,
      Isn’t God wonderful? That he knows the appropriate time to send the people in your life to help you through a storm or to encourage you to keep the faith and that time marches on. I will definitely pray for you in what is going to be somewhat difficult. Please know that I am definitely here if you need anyone to listen and encourage you to keep moving forward in a positive way. God bless you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
